sid.
October 22, 2009, 8:26 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

fingers-crossedi just came from a really inspirational meeting with one of my mentors, sid. i am actually not really sure of how to spell or pronounce his real name, because he refuses to answer to it. actually, i don’t really know too much about sid, beside the thousands of anecdotal stories he has on tap. but i digress. 

i went to his office and basically threw down all my burdens. i told him about my law school/lsat fears and my grad school uncertainties. i told him about the lack of direction my department has provided me and my concerns about securing another internship in washington for the upcoming summer. and when i finally finished whining and complaining, sid picked up the phone and made it all better. and i say this with the utmost seriousness. he literally picked up the phone and made a call. the sun came out, the birds started chirping, it was awesome. 

sid is tough, but he has always been there for me, and has always pushed me to do my best. it’s rare to find someone that actually believes in you, especially at such a large university. he has opened up classes for me, that have been closed. he has set up meetings for me with the most influential people at the university, and has never asked  for anything in return. well…he does ask that i come and visit him a couple times during the semester, but that is something that i would have likely done without him asking me to. 

so, this is where i am…

i am going to take the lsat even though i suckkkk at standardized tests and still cringe at the thought of the sat’s.

i will apply for graduate programs at the same time as law schools, just in case i do not perform as well as i would like.

i will continue to do everything in my power to boost my gpa and remain a well rounded student.

and i will cross my fingers and hope for the best. 

i am excellent at stressing myself out, but i think i’ll try to take a new approach this semester. if i give myself enough options and plan b’s, there is not way that i am going to wind up being anything less than a success!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

