higher learning
January 21, 2010, 9:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

the second semester of junior year has begun and unfortunately my return to organized education has put a damper on my personal reading schedule. yesterday in a book store, i bought a total of 3 books, 2 of which are not for any specific courses, and will thus not be read until the summer time. here in lies my problem with the modern higher education system. why does college, leave me with no time to learn on my own? while in prison, malcolm x read works of personal interest and found his own path to enlightenment. there was no professor (warden) breathing down his neck, with stacks of pointless assignments, piles of busy work, preaching about theories in books they most likely authored. not all courses drive me to the brink of suicide, but i can already feel a strong distaste from the classes i “chose” this semester. 

don’t get me wrong, i will absolutely work for an A. i will go to office hours and i will do all the extra fluff that it takes to build a strong gpa and an impressive resume. in all fairness, chances are that i will learn a great deal. however, i always keep in mind that life does not come with a syllabus. i hope all of these pop quizzes are at-least somewhat preparing me for the real world. 

“my alma mater was books, a good library – i could spend the rest of my life reading, just satisfying my curiosity”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

